Help!

Posted on December 18, 2010

0



Jenny: “Professor, I need some help. I don’t know what’s happening but one day I feel great and the next I feel lousy. One day I’m full of beans, rarin to go, and the next I’m down in the dumps. What’s going on?”

Peter: ” Oh that’s just a girl thing – women are naturally temperamental.”

Jemny; “Shut up Peter, I’m asking the Professor.”

Professor Wiggly: ” No Peter it’s not just a girl thing. As a matter of fact I use to have the same problem. Eventually I talked it over with my family doctor, he did a bunch of tests, couldn’t find anything wrong and prescribed sleeping pills – so I slept better for a while. But gradually I needed more pills, til I was hooked . Then had withdrawal symptoms getting off them – not nice!  A friend told me about a meditation class which really helped him. As far as I can tell it helped by teaching him to relax twice a  day simply by learning to control his breathing. Apparently it’s impossible to be tense  while breathing deeply. So I do deep breathing exercises for a few minutes twice a day.”

Jenny: ” That’s it?”

Peter: ” I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I won’t have to see a shrink.”

Professor: “Actually there’s research evidence indicating that meditation can work as well as pills – and without the side effects. But of course the pills are simpler. Rather than spending 10 or 15 minutes meditating once or twice a day, just pop a couple of pills.”

Jenny: “Where can I learn to meditate?”

Peter: “Nip off to India for 6 months  and live in a cave with an old guy with a scraggly beard wearing a dirty night-shirt.”

Professor Wiggly: ” That’s one way. But I read a book on meditation – I forget the title. I’ll see if I can find it.”

Posted in: Sciencing, Yer Thing