Self-hypnosis?

Posted on October 15, 2010

0



Peter: “I’m having trouble sleeping – I’ve heard that self-hypnosis works wonders – is that right?”

Professor Wiggly: ” It’s a form of relaxation, of slowing down you’re breathing. Whether it works or not is mainly a matter of practice – most people can’t be bothered.”

Peter: ” Suppose I wanted to try it… what would I do?”

Jenny: “Google self-hypnosis… you’ll find lots of ways to do it.”

Professor Wiggly: ” Here’s a simple relaxation method you can try: get into bed, lights out, get comfortable, stretch… stretch again, take a deep breath and let it out slowly. Count as you inhale and exhale. As you practice you’ll find yourself taking deeper and deeper breaths – your inhale and exhale count will get longer and longer.  Try it. That’s all some people need to do and in a week or so of practice they start falling asleep. Let me know what happens.”

Posted in: Sciencing